Uncategorized

Blog Name Change

So, I decided to change the name of this blog from Not So Happily Ever After to Diaries of A Sarcastic Divorcée. I feel like this title suits my blog and the content better after reading a very interesting blog post earlier today. Basically, it was a letter with one man’s advice to married couples after getting a divorce from his wife of 16 years. Click the link below if you’re interested in reading it.

https://afterjujuman.com/2013/08/23/my-advice-to-married-couples-after-divorcing-my-wife-of-16-years-by-gerald-rogers/

I thought this was such a great read, and one of the things that stuck out for me was when he said that marriage isn’t about living ‘happily ever after’ with your spouse. As the author stated- and something I learned from my own marriage- marriage is very hard work. Happily ever after is something that only happens in fairytales. Many people think that once they get married, they will ride off into the sunset with their spouse, and whatever problems or issues they may have had before they got married, or will have after the wedding day, will cease to exist. I hate to break it to you, but after the beautiful wedding is over, and the “I Do’s” are said and done, that’s when the real HARD work begins. I think that like me, most people really do get married and have every intention of only being with the man or woman you chose to marry- til death parts you- as your wedding vows stated. But, in the real world, things don’t always happen the way we wish they would. Every point that the author of the above article states is absolutely correct. In a marriage, both husbands and wives become content and complacent after a while. And sometimes, complacency leads to boredom, and boredom leads to distance between the two of you, and that distance oftentimes leads to divorce court.

I won’t reiterate all that was said in the referenced post, but both men and women, married, single, or divorced..do yourselves a favor and read it.

 

Leave a Reply

